Kolorful Palette: K Series- Playful Kiss

As I said already, K-Drama are addictive to the core and this one definitely is. I couldn’t take my mind off from this though it’s been a week since I finished watching them…

At times, this seduces me to watch it once more and once more, which is not good. Because I’ve to watch the rest I’ve in my list.. As a matter of fact, I’ve too many to watch in my list..

source: Google Images
source: Google Images

“Mischievous Kiss”  “Playful Kiss” is a romantic-comedy covering the romance between Baek Seung-Jo (Kim Hyun-Joong), an arrogant young man with a genius IQ, and Oh Ha-Ni (Jung So-Min), a scatterbrained young woman who gets poor grades, but whose heart is as strong and powerful as Seung-Jo’s mind.

The series is based on a Taiwanese drama and a Japanese manga book. It is called “It Started With a Kiss.”

It is about a girl in F class who falls in love with an A class boy. It was love at first sight. She starts loving him from the moment she sets her eyes on him, which was the first day of her school. She dreams about him and yearns for his love but afraid to confess. Later during her final year of school, she develops courage and confess her love through a letter. But that would turn out to be a tragedy as Seung-Jo tells Ha-Ni that he hates dump women and returns her letter. He would’ve corrected her mistakes in the letter and would’ve marked “D” as rating. Completely shattered Ha-Ni will try to forget and move-on.

Later on events turn out to be like fate wants to unite them. Ha-Ni’s house will be shattered due to earth quake and on seeing the news in TV, her dad’s childhood friend will invite them to stay together until they rebuild their house. Ha-Ni will be surprised on seeing the house and more surprised to see Seung-Jo there. Staying with Seung-Jo, she feels everyday as being in a paradise. She threatens Seung-Jo & gets his help in tutoring her. With his tutor, she achieves #50 rank and will be placed in A class. Later on, she’ll try to get in good terms with Seung-Jo but he keeps avoiding her and this will make Ha-Ni to stop chasing him. Meawhile, Seung-Jo’s mother wants Seung-Jo and Ha-Ni to get married as she knew Ha-Ni’s love and her son’s stubborn mentality.

During graduation, Ha-Ni tells Seung-Jo that she will not chase him and she’s gonna move on, which makes Seung-Jo aggressive. He pulls her towards wall and kisses her passionately. After the kiss, he will ask her to forget him if possible for her. This scene was awesome though I felt like slitting Seung-Jo’s throat for acting stupid.. But then all is fair in love and war right???

Ha-Ni will try to get in to a decent university as her grades were not that great. She will end up in Parang University and to her surprise, Seung-Jo will also enroll himself in the same university.. I really hoped that he will express his love to her but that didn’t happen here for sometime…

Seung-Jo asusual will act so mean towards Ha-Ni, but she remained the same towards him. We had so many support characters like Ha-Ni’s friends Min-ah and Joo-Ri. These girls support her a lot whenever she was down..

Seung-Jo was such a nasty/ arrogant guy in this.. I saw him that way, with his abuse at Ha-Ni. I’m not going to lie and say that he wasn’t attractive at all in this drama. Every time he actually decided to be nice and flashed one of his cute smiles, I was suckered into liking him. 
 

But him smiling was pretty rare,.. 😦  He treated her like a child, and she seemed insecure of his love for her even after they were married.

One thing I don’t understand is that why Ha-Ni isn’t standing up for her…I had so little respect for Oh Ha Ni for this, that I actually had a really hard time understanding why the male lead ended up with her rather than the smart and beautiful, but evil, female in the love triangle. Ha-Ni always says she will follow Seung-Jo wherever he goes and literally she does this. I had a glimmer of hope when she finally decided to apply herself to become a nurse, but it was only because he was becoming a doctor. At literally the last minute of the series, Oh Ha Ni seems to find her own motivation to become a nurse, but it was too little, too late for me.

Playful Kiss was one of those dramas that I could not stop watching against my better judgment. You cannot expect that all love romance.. But rather you will face abusive relationships a lot in PK. I’m glad I watched it because it’s one of those dramas I love to hate.

What do you think about this?

